Post-Thanksgiving blues

I just found out about the death of a friend. He was only 47; I went into his jewelry store to discuss some business and was told the funeral is tomorrow. He dropped dead in his apartment a few nights ago and was found when he didn’t come in to work. This is the second person in a month I knew who died suddenly and prematurely; and a close business associate was recently diagnosed with a serious kind of cancer.

I suppose I should be thankful for my own good health, but this will get me back into the gym tonight. I’ve lost 25 pounds this year but have another 5-10 to go to get to an ideal weight.

Until recently I liked to think I would have plenty of time to accomplish certain things; I probably still will, but now I find myself being bolder and more selfish about asking for what I want.

Tomorrow night I will be at an event with some people I haven’t seen in about 25 years; that will probably sober me up some more.

About Polymath

Discoverable with effort
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Post-Thanksgiving blues

  1. I’m 20 and I feel old and that I’ll never achieve the things I want to do. And it’s not the dreams like having an empire. lol

  2. PA says:

    My condolences about your friend.

    If you’re interested, I can give you a few tips on how to be motivated about going to the gym.

    RV: about achieving things — I remember myself at 19 and having similar thoughts. Life is a lot richer than abstract visions of imagined successes you have at that age.

  3. PA,
    Thanks. I like going to the gym, I’m just too busy. What motivates me to go is usually vanity, I decide that I need to look better. I can’t get motivated as strongly by health concerns since I am in pretty good shape already. My aerobic capacity and endurance are very good, but strength and flexibility could use some work.

    RV,
    Try to distinguish what you can control from what you can’t, and work on the achievements you can control first: the circumstances blocking you from the other achievements may change in the meantime or you may develop new ambitions.

    What’s hard for me is there are plenty of achievements I can control but maybe not enough time for all of them. And the money/time tradeoff has become more significant for me recently.

  4. rebelliousvanilla says:

    PA, the problem is that I realize that achieving anything is pointless anyway and I lose all my motivation.

  5. Alvis Velthomer says:

    Just today my dog died. We have her for 14.5 years. She was a golden retriever. She was more like a family member than a pet, and we had her since she was a puppy. Still, she lived a long life for a dog.

    As to more and more people dying at relatively young ages, perhaps it might have something to deal with the foods people are eating. I talked to my father, and he said that fat children were quite uncommon when he was in school. My question is: 1. How come so many people became so fat despite food availability being the same as it was compared to 40 years ago, and 2.) why do so many people have no shame regarding their obesity condition? My guess is that there are still plenty of people willing to bed fatties, and due to the left pushing ugliness. Seriously, am I the only in my generation who finds Lady Gaga to be ugly? And don’t get me started on the tramp stamp fad.

  6. Alvis, the thing about obesity is carelessness. Just like I’m not getting straight 100%, even if I could do it, they don’t care about their eating habits. And the foods people eat have been getting gradually worse. The way to be thin is simple – stay off the carbs and off the sugar.

  7. Yes, but the interesting thing is why obesity has increased so much in the last 20 years. Carelessness explains being overweight, but there is now a subpopulation of hugely fat people that is at least 5 times as large as when I was growing up. There have always been morbidly obese people, but this used to be found primarily among the well-to-do. Starting in the 80’s in America, calories got so cheap relative to income levels that for the first time in human history, a large majority of the population could eat as much as they wanted without noticeably reducing their ability to buy other things (food stamps probably exacerbated this effect). Not only were more people thus tempted to surrender to the sin of Gluttony, which has always existed, but the people who were now able to eat all they want for the first time included the lowest economic quartile of the population, which for obvious reasons has always included a much higher proportion of lazy people with poor impulse control and low future time-orientation.

  8. rebelliousvanilla says:

    I disagree with you. In my country, the fattest people are the lower classes and old people. From the middle class up, people are usually thin.

    The truth is that the food you have has been gradually getting worse. Funny enough, here the fat people are the ones that eat the American way – low fat, low protein, high carbs.

  9. I agree that the food has been getting worse but I don’t see how we are disagreeing, my point is the lower classes here are more likely to be fat too because of laziness and low self-control and low future time-orientation.

    High carbs is merely the way that they make themselves fat, because the carb calories are so cheap, but since the old, healthy foods are still available the mere presence of cheap carbs is not enough to make someone fat without a character problem.

Leave a Reply

