Blogging the decline and fall

I’m back. I’m not happy to be back, but the signs and portents are bad and I find I now need a place to collect my thoughts (even better would be a place to discuss them but I don’t have the energy or time to go around soliciting attention, until then I’ll let it build by word-of-blog).

Some of the recent signs and portents: the Gates of Vienna counterjihad blog just got taken down under suspicious circumstances, the coverage of the Algerian hostage crisis has been very systematically slanted, the Democratic and Republican politicians have been, respectively, even more evil and stupid than usual, the economic circumstances I see with my own eyes go unreported or are contradicted in the media, the movies released in the last year and advertised to be released this year all point in a certain direction, and certain people are no longer attempting to hide their agendas. I’ll go into all of this over the next few weeks. In the meantime, I have taken personal steps to make myself “antifragile” (look it up, I won’t say “Google it” because I have a grudge against Google): securing a 2.75% fixed rate refinancing for as much money as I could take out of my house, buying a few hundred ounces of silver (in the form recommended by Peter Schiff), and obtaining two different forms of home security (both are 3-letter words and involve licenses).

Fasten your seatbelts.

About Polymath

Discoverable with effort
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging the decline and fall

  1. JJ Abrams Star Trek sequel! Hobbit! Movies are looking great to me … (of course, I have kids, and won’t see either until like 2014, and on Netflix if I’m lucky, HBO more likely.)

  2. Cheer up. The Governing Class and USG are what’s falling. America is far too strong and has too many inherent and natural advantages – geography alone is priceless – to fall. Now you are being quite prudent. BTW I heard via High End broker type with Affluent and above clientele that after they bought PMs they bought…protection. They also bought food.

    You’d have to be a damn fool to think that the fiat bubble alone won’t explode.

  3. Polymath says:

    I wish you were right, but how exactly do you expect the governing class to “fall”? See my most recent post–they won’t fall unless someone figures out how to take them down, there is NO accountability anymore. As Jim Geraghty said today,

    If the decision making before, during, and after the Benghazi attack is insufficient to get anyone fired, what decision in government will ever warrant that consequence? If Democrats on Capitol Hill can’t take off their partisan blinders for one day to attempt to hold people accountable for decision-making that resulted in American deaths at the hands of extremists, and then lying to the public about it, then when will they ever? If Hillary Clinton can exclaim that it doesn’t matter that the administration spent five days talking about a video when the video had nothing to do with it, and everyone on her side applauds, why should she or anyone else ever respond to an accusation with anything but audacious defiance?

    This is it, folks. This is the government we have, and the lack of a public outcry about Benghazi ensures this is the government we will have for the foreseeable future.

    The response to Hillary’s testimony is utterly typical–she gives completely inadequate answers and all the politicians and media pretend that she gave great answers and laid the issue to rest and it’s time to Move On blah blah blah….they know that the people can’t or won’t evaluate things for themselves anymore so pretending to answer and portraying the opposition as socially unacceptable to listen to is all they need to do.

Leave a Reply

